Skip to main content

History 229: Many Faces of Sewanee: Newspapers Sources

Resources especially for the "Many Faces of Sewanee" course with Professor Willis.

Newspaper Resources

Historical Newspapers

These newspaper collections are open to all users.  Many collections are the results of grant funded projects to preserve American History.


List by state

Alabama

Birmingham Iron Age,1874 to 1884.

California

California Digital Newspaper Collection,1849 to 1911

Colorado

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection, 1859 - 1924

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection, currently includes 147 newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.

Florida

Florida Digital Newspaper Library, dates vary by publication, range includes 1821 to 2006.

Georgia

Georgia Historic Newspapers, 1750 to 1925

Illinois

Quincy Historical Newspaper Archive, dates vary by publication, range includes 1835 to 1890.

Kentucky

Northern Kentucky Newspaper Index, dates vary by publication, range includes 1841 to 1884.  Most of the older newspapers are full-text.  Some of the newer editions may only display the citation.

Minnesota

Winona Newspaper Project, dates vary by publication, range includes 1860 to 1946.

Missouri

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project, dates vary by publication, range includes 1857 to 1879.

Nevada

Las Vegas Age newspaper digital collection, from April 7, 1905-1915, 1917-1922, 1924.

New Jersey

Atlantic County Historic Newspapers, dates vay by publication, range includes 1860 to 1923.  PDF quality varies from issue to issue.

New York

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online, 1841-1902

Freedom's Journal, 1827 to 1829.  First African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. Issues are available in chronological order with no index or searching capability.

Northern New York Historical Newspapers, dates vary by publication, range includes 1811 to 2007

Suffolk Historic Newspapers, dates vary by publication, range includes 1839 to 1923

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvanial Civil War Newspapers, dates vary by publication, range includes 1831 to 1877.

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project, dates vary by publication, range includes 1895 to 1980.

South Carolina

New South Newspaper,1862-1866.

Utah

Utah Digital Newspapers, dates vary by publication, range includes 1890 to 1959

Virginia

Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860 to 1865.
 
Virginia Gazette, 1736 to 1780.

Washington

Historic Newspapers in Washington State, dates vary by publication, ranges includes 1852 to 1892

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles, dates vary.  The majority of the articles are from 1860 to 1940.


Native American Newspapers

D’Arcy McNickle Library (MT) Digitization of the publication covers the years 1956 to 1961, and 1971 to 1988. The Digital Char-Koosta News Project is a collaborative effort of the D’Arcy McNickle Library at Salish Kootenai College, the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation and the Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library of the University of Montana.  Funded by the Institute of Museums and Library Services.

Tundra Times (AK), 1962 to 1997. Native American Alaskan Newspaper.


National Newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress), date range 1880-1910.

Making of America: Cornell University Library

Making of America: University of Michigan

Online Books Page: Serials Dates and topics vary.A large selection of open access U.S and international periodicals.

State Digital Resources: Memory Projects, Online Encyclopedias, Historical & Cultural Materials Collections

Credit: George Mason University

Subject Guide

Heidi Syler's picture
Heidi Syler
Contact:
Jessie Ball duPont Library
Room G25
735 University Ave.
Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1709
Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664