A collection of streaming music that includes the following packages: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, and Opera on Video. Users can search by subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles.
Classical Music Library: Labels like EMI, Decca, Deutsche Grammophon, Boosey & Hawkes, Universal Edition, and the BBC; 16,000 classical works, over 200 genres, and thousands of artists and ensembles.
American Song: All genres of American music and time periods covered, including blues, popular, old time, ragtime, protest songs, rockabilly, and more; Hundreds of American historical events, commissioned folk songs, and thousands of artists and ensembles.
Contemporary World Music: Traditional and contemporary genres covered, worldbeat, Afropop, ritual songs, folk traditions, Indian classical, and more; more than 160 countries, 400 languages, 1,000 cultural groups, and 2,000 instruments.
Jazz Music Library: labels, including Verve, GRP, Impulse! Records, Universal Classics & Jazz, Blue Note, Concord Jazz, Riverside, Milestone, Original Jazz Classics, Jazzology, Pablo; all genres covered, including vocal jazz, bebop, big band, swing, acid jazz, modal jazz, traditional jazz, Latin jazz, and ragtime; more than 100 genres and thousands of artists and ensembles.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries: includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Opera in Video: 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, and then delivered online through streaming video.
A library of more than 590,000 tracks (41,000 CDs) of streaming music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. While the majority of the tracks are classical, the Naxos Music Library also includes jazz, blues, world and Chinese music. Also provided are text resources including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas available in the Naxos Music Library. Click to view instructions for use on mobile devices.
NML offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels, including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. Also includes selected titles of other leading independent labels, with more labels being added from time to time.
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers most subjects from social sciences, the arts, theology, literature to the physical sciences, technology, medicine, and more.
Contains academic journals and reference sources.
Search interface is Gale Infotrac.
Provides full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications (many of them peer-reviewed.) Also includes abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications. Covers every core undergraduate subject (sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and education) as well as cross-disciplinary areas such as ethnic studies, women’s studies, history. 1982 to present.
All the content of these full-text databases as well the full runs of every full-text journal they index: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. Also contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Contains abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications. Search interface: EBSCOhost.