Skip to main content

Jessie Ball duPont Library: Starting Your Research

The Jessie Ball duPont Library at the University of the South, Sewanee, TN, offers an extensive range of resources and services to support teaching and learning.

Starting Your Research

Need an introduction to a topic? We can help with that. These sources will offer you background on:
  • topics
  • facts and figures
  • pointers to major sources of research
  • assistance in helping to narrow or to better define a research topic
Among the best starting points are the Credo Reference Collection and the Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Search Credo Reference

Credo Logo

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online is a library of discipline-based subject modules created by leading scholars. Each guide includes the most important and significant sources in a specific area of study, with unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. We have these subjects: Anthropology, Biblical Studies, Classics, Education, International Law, International Relations, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Renaissance and Reformation, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.

Research Guides

Take a look at the Research Guides compiled by Sewanee librarians. There should be one focused on your discipline, and maybe even your course!

Search the Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference OnlineEnter a search term in the box below to search selected dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press:

Opposing Viewpoints

CQ Researcher

Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. 

Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664