Skip to main content

Jessie Ball duPont Library: Government Information Collection

The Jessie Ball duPont Library at the University of the South, Sewanee, TN, offers an extensive range of resources and services to support teaching and learning.

Key Government Information Tools

Consumer Information

Government Information Collection

 

FDLP EagleIn 1873, the United States Senate designated the Library to be a selective depository of United States government information, making it one of the earliest Federal Depository Libraries in the state of Tennessee. Jessie Ball duPont Library serves as the Federal Depository Library for the 4th Congressional District of Tennessee.

Currently, approximately 35% of the items offered through the Federal Depository Library Program are selected. Areas of emphasis in the collection include agriculture, forestry, census data, geology, the environment, foreign affairs, and congressional information and publications. Because of the early designation as a depository, the government information collection houses many historical documents.

Just as the collection has a significant historical component, it is also an excellent source for current information on several subjects. Strengths of the collection include agriculture, census, congressional information and publications, the environment, foreign countries and international relations, forestry, geology, statistical data, and trade.

The library has staff knowledgeable in locating and using government information. Please do not hesitate to ask us for assistance: research@sewanee.edu or 931-598-3333.

Location and Use of the Government Information Collection


The physical collection is located in compact shelving on the ground floor of the library, and in microfiche format, located in the microforms area on the main floor of the library.  Much of the information is also disseminated in electronic format, particularly via the Internet, and, as with our tangible government information collection, can be found in the library catalog.

The collection is arranged using the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) Classification System, which is an alpha/numeric classification system that classifies each document by the agency or department that issues the document, not by subject.  For example SuDoc classification "A" is for materials issued by the Agriculture Department, "D" for the Defense Department, "I" for the Department of Interior, and so forth. See the Explanation of the SuDoc Classification System for more information.

Members of the public, especially those residing in Tennessee's Fourth Congressional District, are welcome to use the collection.

Government Information by Level of Government

Our colleagues at the Vanderbilt University Library have built one of the best and most comprehensive guides for accessing government information online. The following links will take you to their pages for accessing information by level of government.

Statistical Data

Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664