Scott Spicer, a librarian at the University of Minnesota, maintains the Digital Image Collections Guide, which is a carefully assembled guide to nearly 1000 image collections online. Something can be found on nearly any topic!
A collection of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. Also includes special tools to actively use images. Images are from hundreds of museums, artists, artists' estates, photographers, scholars, special collections, and photo archives. For access to all features, you must register for a free account when connected to this database while on campus. You will set up your own username and password.
A searchable image database of more than 95,000 works of art from prominent museums around the world. All content is rights-cleared for educational use. CAMIO art images span the following categories: photographs, prints, sculptures, textiles, watercolors, paintings, decorative arts, posters, costumes, utilitarian objects, jewelry.
Premier museums worldwide contribute to CAMIO. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video, and curatorial notes.
Formerly "Grove Art Online" this resource includes images, definitions, biographies, and analysis from Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with powerful tools for navigating the content, and context-sensitive help pages are available throughout the site to guide users through the features and functionality.
Includes the content of Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available as Web pages or downloadable files. To register, use your sewanee.edu email address to be added to our subscription.