Skip to main content

Electronic Books: Ebooks by Collection (Can I Download or Print?)

Ebook Collections

E-Books by Collection

You can find ebooks from all of these collections in the catalog. Use this chart to find out what you will be allowed to do with the ebooks in the various collections that we have. )

 

NAME OF E-BOOK
COLLECTION
VENDOR CAN I
DOWNLOAD?
CAN I
PRINT/COPY?
CAN I MAKE NOTES? IMPORTANT!
ABC Clio ABC Clio No You may print the exact page you are viewing, the entire chapter you are viewing, or a range of pages within the chapter. Yes, if you create an account.  
ACLS Humanities E-Book American Council of Learned Societies Only titles that have a PDF option-- only 10 pages at a time. Only titles that have a PDF option-- only 10 pages at a time. No You can print only for personal research use. Instructors may provide the permanent URL (on the title record page) and the page numbers to students; to copy pages for your course, you must apply directly to the original publisher for permission.
Cambridge Books Online Cambridge University Press Yes, one section at a time. Yes, one section at a time. No  
Credo Reference Credo Reference Yes, one section at a time. Yes, one section at a time. No  
Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800) Readex Yes, one page at a time Yes, one page at a time No  
EBSCOhost ebooks EBSCO [platform with books from many publishers] (1) You must create a free account and sign in whenever you want to download. (2) Some publishers only allow reading online and not downloading. (3) More information Differs by publisher. (Help for printing/saving ebooks pages as PDF) Yes, if are signed in. (1) Each book can only be used by one person at a time! If the book is already checked out, note will say "this book is in use." (2) You cannot return it early. (3) On laptops and computers, free ADE (Adobe Digital Editions) software is required. For iPad or Android, use free Bluefire app from iTunes. (4) Different publishers give different loan periods.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Gale Yes, up to 250 pages at a time. Yes, up to 250 pages at a time. No  
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. No  
JSTOR JSTOR [Platform has books from many publishers] Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. No  
Oxford Biblical studies Online Oxford University Press No Yes, 100%: Bible texts chapter by chapter; Reference works by article No  
Oxford Reference Online Oxford University Press Yes, each article separately. No If you create an account and sign in you can save articles and assign tags to them.  
Oxford Handbooks Online Oxford University Press Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. If you create an account and sign in you can save articles and assign tags to them.  
Palgrave Connect Palgrave Yes, 100% Yes, 100% No  
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg Yes, 100% Yes, 100% No  
Project Muse UPCC Johns Hopkins Univ. Press/UPCC (Univ. Press Content Consortium) Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. Yes No  
Springer Springer Yes, 100% Yes, 100% No  
Wiley Wiley Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. Yes, 100%, chapter by chapter. No  
Wright American Fiction Indiana University Yes, one page at a time Yes, one page at a time No  
Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664