Skip to main content

Citation Management Tools: Creating Citations

Automatically Generated Citations

Zotero makes it easy for you to automatically add citations from any database you're browsing in Firefox.  The instructions below will walk you through the process of importing citations to your Zotero profile.

1. Navigate to the page containing the citation in your database of choice.

2. Once you're at the citation page, click on the icon (appears like a page) on the right of the address bar.

3. Zotero will now save the citation listed on the website to your Zotero database.  You should see a small dialogue box appear in the bottom right hand corner of your screen indicating that the citation is being saved

4. Congratulations, your record is now available in your personal Zotero database!  You can now edit, tag, make notes, and export this citation to a bibliography or citation in Word or OpenOffice at your convenience.  For more information on performing those tasks simply click on the links above.

Manual Citations

It is also possible to manually add a new item to your Zotero database if you don't have an online citation of the source to work with.

1. Click on the "New Item" button, a green circle with a plus sign located in the center column and pictured below:

                  

2. Choose the source type.  Zotero provides a list of the most common sources for your convenience, but other source types are available by clicking "More" at the bottom of the drop-down menu. 

3. You can add information to the various fields by clicking on them and typing, illustrated below:

 

Clicking to the right of a field brings up an input screen where you type in citation information.

4. You can add as many citations as you like using this method, though it is usually easier to use the automatic citation generation outlined at the top of this page.  From this point you can add the citation to various collections or export the record to a bibliography or works cited page in Word or OpenOffice.

Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664