Skip to main content

Guide for Theological E-resources: Dictionaries

E-resources for Theology

Visual dictionary

Visuwords™ uses Princeton University’s WordNet, an opensource database built by University students and language researchers. Combined with a visualization tool and user interface built from a combination of modern web technologies, Visuwords™ is available as a free resource to all patrons of the web.

Computational Knowledge Engine

Loading

Dictionaries

Here are some useful dictionaries to start with:

Links to full text dictionaries, including foreign languages, subject areas, and the English language.

While not as comprehensive as other sources, this is a good quick reference site from an authority in dictionary publishing.

OneLook is a meta-dictionary. Enter an English language word or acronym, and OneLook will search its index of over 900 general and special interest dictionaries for the definition.

Provides a variety of links to specialized subject dictionaries in many different areas.

An online project that gives as much information as possible for words, such as images, statistics, pronunciations, and multiple definitions.

Credo Reference

An online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books from a total of 169. Credo Reference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.

Subject Guide

Dr. Romulus Stefanut's picture
Dr. Romulus Stefanut
Contact:
Address: 178 Georgia Ave, Sewanee, TN 37383
Phone: 931.598.1267
Website / Blog Page
Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664