Skip to main content

Guide for Theological E-resources: E-databases

E-resources for Theology

What is your favorite database?

My top 3 are:

1. TLG

2. Project Gutenberg

3. Dead Sea Scrolls

 

E-databases

 

Alex

Provides author, title and subject access to many electronic texts found on the Internet. Its focus is American and English literature and western philosophy

http://www.infomotions.com/alex/

 

Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL)

The Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL) is an initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World (ISAW) at New York University. AWDL identifies, collects, curates, and provides access to a broad range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world.

http://dlib.nyu.edu/ancientworld/about/

 

Augustine of Hippo Online

This site contains resources on Augustine of Hippo (354-430 AD), the famous church father and author of the remarkable autobiography Confessions. The database contains both primary and secondary tests on or about Augustine in English translation.

http://faculty.georgetown.edu/jod/augustine/

 

Baptist Studies Online (BSO)

This portal includes a library of primary resources on the Baptist tradition, with primary focus on North America. The purpose of BSO is to facilitate the scholarly study of Baptists by making available an online Journal, a primary source library, a comprehensive collection of Baptist history-related links, and a regularly updated list of announcements related to the field. BSO is a collaborative effort by Baptist scholars from a variety of traditions, with funding provided by California Baptist University in Riverside, California.

http://baptiststudiesonline.com

 

Bibliotheca Religiosa IntraText

Bibliotheca Religiosa IntraText is a full text library of religious texts from Christianity (including the categories of Bible, Catholicism, the Vatican, Orthodox Christianity, Patristics, Reformation, the consecrated life and Thomism) to Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam.

http://www.intratext.com/BRI/

 

Calvinism Resources Database

This database provides bibliographic information that deal with John Calvin and 16th century Calvinism The resources include articles, essays, and lectures from the 16th century to the present.

http://www.calvin.edu/library/database/card/

 

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is an extensive online collection of classic Christian texts. The database includes patristic writings, various versions of the Bible, hymns, denominational works, reference works, and theological texts.

http://www.ccel.org

 

Church in the Southern Black Community

This database is a collection of electronic texts documenting how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life. Coverage begins with white churches' conversion efforts, especially in the post-Revolutionary period, and depicts the tensions and contradictions between the egalitarian potential of evangelical Christianity and the realities of slavery.

http://docsouth.unc.edu/church/index.html

 

Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist Studies (DLMBS)

Provides access to a searchable Buddhism database of bibliographies, books, journals, periodicals, research reports, thesis etc. DLMBS is devoted to collecting Buddhist bibliographies (396,613 entries) with a database of 35,214 full text Buddhist articles in 45 languages

http://buddhism.lib.ntu.edu.tw/DLMBS/en/index.jsp

 

Digital Quaker Collection (DQC)

DQC is a full text and photography database of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.

http://dqc.esr.earlham.edu:8080/xmlmm/login.html

 

Early Christian Writings

The Early Christian Writing is an online edition of Christian texts from the 1st to the early 3rd centuries.

http://www.earlychristianwritings.com/index.html

 

Gnostic Society Library

The Gnostic Society Library contains a vast collection of primary documents relating to the Gnostic tradition as well as a selection of in-depth audio lectures and brief archive notes designed to orient study of the documents, their sources, and the religious tradition they represent.

http://www.gnosis.org/library.html

 

Index Verborum : Martin Luther’s German Writings,

This database includes Luther's German sermons, tractates, and letters, produced between 1516-1525.

https://larch.bc.edu/fmi/webd#luther

 

Internet Sacred Text Archive

This database includes sacred texts from various religious traditions including Baha’, Buddhism, Christianity, Jainism, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam, Mormonism, Paganism, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoism, and Zoroastrianism.

http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm

 

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks including free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. Most of Project Gutenberg ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers.

http://www.gutenberg.org

 

Online Critical Pseudepigrapha

The Online Critical Pseudepigrapha contains texts of the pseudepigrapha in their original (or extant) languages; some with critical apparatus. The goal of this library is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.

http://ocp.tyndale.ca

 

Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University

The Works of Jonathan Edwards Online is a collection of writings and articles from Jonathan Edwards. The collection contains edited published works and raw manuscripts.

http://edwards.yale.edu

 

Theological Perspectives of the Reformation

The Theological Perspectives of the Reformation includes a rich primary texts and translations of primary texts on key figures and text related to both the Protestant Reformations and the Catholic Counter-reformation.

http://www.reformationhappens.com

 

Wesley Center Online

Wesley Center Online offers a list of works by and about English religious leader John Wesley (1702-1791), the founder of the Methodist Church. The Wesley Center Online website is sponsored and maintained by the Church of the Nazarene

http://wesley.nnu.edu

 

British Library Online Gallery

British Library Online Gallery - includes many sacred texts such as prayer books and sacred texts (including Codex Sinaiticus and the Ramayana )

http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/virtualbooks/index.html

 

Interpreting Ancient Manuscripts Web

Interpreting Ancient Manuscripts Web - study of ancient manuscripts upon which the New Testament is based. Greek focus with English transliteration

http://legacy.earlham.edu/~seidti/iam/interp_mss.html

 

Internet History Sourcebooks Project

Internet History Sourcebooks Project - note sections for Christian OriginsRoman Church, CrusadesPapacy, Medieval ChurchIndia, Islam, Judaism and Religious Traditions of East Asia

http://sourcebooks.fordham.edu/sbook1s.asp

 

Internet Sacred Text Archives

Internet Sacred Text Archives - good site for locating texts for a wide variety of religious traditions

http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm

 

The Dead Sea Scrolls

As primary sources, the Dead Sea Scrolls shed light on these historical events and explore the ways that various Jews of the Second Temple era related to the world around them. The majority of the Dead Sea Scrolls were written between the 2nd century BCE and 2nd century CE. During this time, different Judean groups struggled to obtain and maintain political and religious leadership. The discovery of the first Dead Sea Scrolls in a remote Judean Desert cave in 1947 is widely considered the greatest archaeological event of the twentieth century. The scrolls provide an unprecedented picture of the diverse religious beliefs of ancient Judaism, and of daily life during the turbulent Second Temple period when Jesus lived and preached. Fragments of every book of the Hebrew Bible (except the Book of Esther) were found in the Qumran caves, the most famous of the Dead Sea Scrolls sites. Remarkably, some of these ancient copies are identical to the traditional text of the Hebrew Bible that is used today. Other copies preserve differences in the text, which was in the process of standardization.

http://www.deadseascrolls.org.il/?locale=en_US

 

Perseus Digital Library

The Perseus Project at Tufts University is the foremost Digital Library for the classical world, if not for the Humanities in general. In its collection of Greek and Roman materials, readers will find many of the canonical texts read today. The Greek collection approaches 8 million words and the Latin collection currently has 5.5 million. In addition, many English language dictionaries, other reference works, translations, and commentaries are included, so that anyone with an internet connection has access to the equivalent of a respectable College Classics library. The Perseus site is further enriched by intricate linking mechanisms among texts (resulting in more than 30 million links). 

http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/

 

Thesaurus Linguae Greacae (TLG)

Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology. The Online Canon database currently contains over 12,000 bibliographical records and is regularly updated to include new entries as they are added to the TLG Digital Library. Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine.

http://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/

 

Index Tomisticum

The Index Thomisticus Treebank contains Latin texts of Thomas Aquinas (Medieval Latin) enhanced with complex and interlinked morphological, syntactic (around 300,000 nodes and 16,500 sentences) and semantic/pragmatic annotation (around 28,000 nodes and 2,000 sentences). The texts of Thomas Aquinas are taken from the Index Thomisticus corpus. Built by father Roberto Busa SJ, the Index Thomisticus is considered to be a pathfinder resource in humanities computing and computational linguistics.

http://itreebank.marginalia.it/view/resources.php

 

Subject Guide

Dr. Romulus Stefanut's picture
Dr. Romulus Stefanut
Contact:
Address: 178 Georgia Ave, Sewanee, TN 37383
Phone: 931.598.1267
Website / Blog Page
Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664