Time period: 1800-1922
Location: Africa
Provides more than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes English and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Time Period: 1492-2007
Location: North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of "Empire" and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. It is organized into the following five thematic sections:I) Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; II) Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; III) The Visible Empire; IV) Religion & Empire; and V) Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c1607-2007. Each section features essays by leading scholars in the field. The essays relate directly to the source material covered by the resource, with 30-50 links per essay to documentary evidence.

Time Period: 1902-1985
Location: Africa
Searchable edition of one of South Africa's most important newspapers, with deep coverage of the country during the Apartheid Era. The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. This searchable online resource contains every article, advertisement, editorial, cartoon, and photograph.

A collection of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. Also includes special tools to actively use images. Images are from hundreds of museums, artists, artists' estates, photographers, scholars, special collections, and photo archives. Artstor requires that you register for a free personal account the first time you access through the library. You will set up your own username and password. You will not be required to log in twice after the first time using Artstor.

Time Period: 1527-~2010
Location: North America
This free resources from George Mason University provides a collection of primary resources in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. History. Includes selected and curated brief excerpts from primary texts like letters and personal narratives.

Guide to 200 of the best online primary source archives in world history with reviews.

A catalog of millions of items held by libraries worldwide.

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Also has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery--defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. Also includes every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere.