An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Has indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present; also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Covers 1964 to present. Citations only. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Sources are journal articles. Search interface is EBSCOHost.
Essays, primary sources, biographies, timelines, and other materials including documents from historic newspapers and magazines for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.. Includes International Index to Black Periodicals and Black Literature Index 1827-1940.Supports Black Studies, History, Literature, Women's Studies and Religion. Time period: 1827-1975.
Includes Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- cross-disciplinary essays by today's leading scholars in Black Studies; backfiles of leading African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender, 1910-1975;journals from Africa, the U.S., and the Caribbean; 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
A collection of scholarly resources focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 8,000 articles from Oxford reference sources, over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 150 maps. 150 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts. Licensed for only one user at a time.
Includes the full text of the following Oxford reference sources: - Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Second Edition - Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 - Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present - Black Women in America, Second Edition - African American National Biography Also, contains selected content from other Oxford publications.
A collection of over 1000 academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
A collection of academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the "Standard Collection" which is over 300 titles, but not all of the journals on the site. You may want to limit your search to "Only content I have full access to."