Skip to main content

Finding Your Place 110: Clothing, Textiles and Identity of Place: Find Books

Search the duPont Library Catalog

WorldCat Search Box

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google Books Search

Books in the duPont Library

Tips for Searching the Catalog

Here are some tips for searching for your topics in our library catalog.

You might try some of these searches if they are connected to the topic you are researching.

Use  the keyword search in the catalog and try them alone or in combination:

  • clothing and dress
  • textile fabrics
  • vestments
  • academic dress OR costume
  • social 
  • customs
  • (and) history
  • African Americans
  • Indians of North America

Locations of the books you will find in the catalog

When you look up a book in our library catalog, you will mainly see two locations for the books that you find in your results:

Sewanee General Collection:  The general collection just refers to all of the books that you can check out from the library.  General collection books are found on all three floors of the library, arranged by call numbers that begin with letters (usually).  You can find out where your books would be by using the maps and location guides found on all the floors.  Or just ask us at the front desk, we're happy to help you! 

Sewanee Archives Books or Sewanee Special Collections:  The library archives is next door to the duPont library and accessible only when Archives staff are available there.  Books and other items in the Archives must be used there and remain there.   

Request an Interlibrary Loan

Subject Guide

Heidi Syler's picture
Heidi Syler
Contact:
Jessie Ball duPont Library
Room G25
735 University Ave.
Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1709
Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664