This is the "Home" page of the "Databases A-Z & Subject" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases A-Z & Subject  

Research databases listed by title or by subject. Need more help with your research? Try a Research Guide for help.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://library.sewanee.edu/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Did you find what you needed?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Database picture

Databases

 

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval. 

A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that contains information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books, or collections of historical texts, or collections of images or videos or music. 

Article Databases

An article database enables you to search through thousands (sometimes millions) of different magazines, journals and newspapers to find articles on a particular topic. Some of the articles you will find are Full Text, which means you can read (or print out) the entire article right there online. Other times the database will only provide you with an abstract, or summary of the article. Other times, the database will only give you a citation, which tells you where you can find a print version of the article.

Reference Databases

Reference Databases provide reference information (facts, statistics, background information) from many different print sources. For example, we subscribe to Encyclopedia Britannica Online, which is an online version of the 29-volume set of print encyclopedias. Reference Databases are usually more subject-specific than the article databases, so that each one covers something like Art, Music, Law, Literature, or Science & Technology, to name a few.

Databases are not "internet" sources

Although you access our databases from the internet, the articles you find in them are reprinted from real live print sources. Most of the things you find in our databases cannot be found by searching Google or Wikipedia. These are subscription services that the library pays for. They are every bit a part of our library's collection as the books on our shelf, and unless you want to buy your own subscription, you must go through the library's website to access them.

You must login to use these databases from off-campus

Because these subscription services are paid for by the library, you can use them from any Sewanee computer on campus and you won't have to login. But if you are trying to access these from an off-campus computer (from home, or work, or Bangladesh), you will have to login to prove that you are associated with Sewanee. 

Database Trials

Tell us what you think!

Please give us your comments about any database that you try. Please send feedback to Patricia Thompson. You can also send questions or problems to this same email address.

  • Defining Gender,1450-1910 (TRIAL)  Icon  Icon
    A collection of fully digitized primary source literature covering five centuries between 1450 through 1910. The documents have been selected from a European perspective with an emphasis on British and European sources. Defining Gender contains original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. Thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Gender Studies place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. Key topics are arranged in five "sections": Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility, and The Body. TRIAL ENDS APRIL 9
  • Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange (TRIAL)  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A collection of digitized primary source material to facilitate the study of global commodities in world history. Emphasis is on transport, exchange, and consumption of commodities represented. Types of materials include business accounts, mercantile papers, government reports, dock records, and advertisements. TRIAL ENDS APRIL 9

    Materials are drawn from several libraries, including the American Antiquarian Society, the Bristol Record Office, the British Library, Hudson's Bay Company Archives, the Library Company of Philadelphia, New York Public Library, the Newberry Library, and the National Archives at Kew, among others.

    The 15 commodities represented are: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
  • Drama Online (TRIAL)  Icon  Icon
    This database is produced by Bloomsbury Publishing and includes content by from publishers like Faber & Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Methuen Drama. It features full-text plays from both iconic and contemporary playwrights. All plays may be downloaded or printed. Additionally, this collection supplies writings on playwrights and theatre-related topics through online scholarly works and practical guides. The search and discovery features enable you to find plays by title, playwright, genre, number of cast members, and number of scenes. Monologues are easily identified. Information on production rights are attached to every play. Sample playwrights represented in Drama Online include Ibsen, Chekhov, Brecht, Pirandello, Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, Alan Ayckbourn, and Tom Stoppard. Users can create character grids for all plays, showing which scenes each character is in and offering the ability to see only the lines and stage directions of one character. TRIAL ENDS JUNE 3
 

Liaison Librarians

Librarians are available to assist you with your research in any subject area. Please consult the list below to find the librarian who will be the best person to assist you.

Joan Blocher
jobloche@sewanee.edu, 598-1778
Asian Studies, Modern Languages, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Theology

Mary O'Neill
moneill@sewanee.edu, 598-1660
Art & Art History, European Studies, History, Medieval Studies, Physical Education & Athletics, Women's Studies

Cari Reynolds
cshepher@sewanee.edu, 598-1697
American Studies, English, Film Studies, Theatre Arts

Kevin Reynolds
kreynold@sewanee.edu, 598-1366
Anthropology, Classical Languages, Economics, Education, International Studies, Law, Politics

Heidi Syler
hsyler@sewanee.edu, 598-1709
Biology, Chemistry, English, Environmental Studies, Forestry & Geology, Mathematics & Computer Science, Physics

 

Guide to Database Icons

Under Construction

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip