Skip to main content

History 219: History of Africa to 1880: Find Books

A brief guide to resources to support research in the History of Africa to 1880 course.

Search the duPont Library Catalog

WorldCat Search Box

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google Books Search

Selected Books in the duPont Library

Tips for Searching the Catalog

Here are some tips for searching for books and other items related to your topics in our library catalog.

You might try some of these searches if they are connected to the topic you are researching.

Use  the keyword search in the catalog and try very general searches related to your object of study.  Also try keyword searches using variations of the words you are interested in:

  • samovars
  • "book of hours"
  • microscope AND history
  • pigments
  • fossils AND history
  • atlas AND history

Locations of the books you will find in the catalog

When you look up a book in our library catalog, you will mainly see three locations for the books that you find in your results:

Sewanee General Collection:  The general collection just refers to all of the books that you can check out from the library.  General collection books are found on all three floors of the library, arranged by call numbers that begin with letters (usually).  You can find out where your books would be by using the maps and location guides found on all the floors.  Or just ask us at the front desk, we're happy to help you! 

Sewanee Archives Books or Sewanee Archives:  The library archives is in the building next door to the library and accessible only when Archives staff are available there.  Books and other items in the Archives must be used there and remain there.   

Sewanee Online:  These are ebooks that you can connect to from our library catalog.  For these topics, these will usually be from digitized collections like the Eighteenth Century Collections, or Early English Books Online which will be primary sources.

    Request an Interlibrary Loan

    Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
    178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
    931.598.1664