duPont Library: Film Studies 325: The Films of Alfred Hitchcock: Getting Started

Welcome

This guide is intended to direct you to fundamental resources to use when performing research in the area of Film Studies.The resources here are by no means comprehensive, but are intended to help you achieve a sound start to your work.

Please feel free to contact me if you have suggestions for additions or other ways to improve this guide.

Streaming Videos

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service. Offers more than 77,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
Includes titles from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian, BBC, and more.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of online educational videos from leading filmmakers and production houses, such as First Run Features, Criterion, Green Planet Films, Kino, and more. There is content in nearly every subject: arts, business, health, media, sciences, humanities, and K-12 education. Features include commentary and engagement tools, clip and playlist creation, and the ability for faculty to embed films within Blackboard.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
This site contains feature films which we have licensed from Swank Digital Campus. Films are licensed for a year so the selection will change.

Credo Reference Search Box

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000,000 reference entries on topics from all the major
academic subject areas serving as a great starting point for research. Full text articles plus images, audio files, and videos. Credo Reference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
Includes more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from 100 major publishers, such as ABC Clio, Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more.

Alfred Hitchcock Mindmap

Online Reference Collections

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of significant subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 200 fully-indexed, cross-searchable reference works published by Oxford University Press.
We have the Premium Collection and the Western Civilization Collection.

Other Helpful Skills

Polish some of the research skills that will be necessary for research, writing, and presentation across multiple academic disciplines.

Additional Research Skills

Jessie Ball duPont Library

Film Studies 325: The Films of Alfred Hitchcock

Subject Guide