duPont Library: Neuroscience 355: Advanced Cognitive Neuroscience: Find Journal Articles

Neuroscience Databases

The databases below are among the best to use when performing research in Neuroscience. For an expanded listing of possible resources, see the Psychology and Biology listings in the Electronic Databases by Subject. If the article’s full text is not immediately available, use the Journal Finder to help you locate the full-text. Just type in the title of the journal to see where it is available. If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program.

Best Bet Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research with articles from 66 journals, published from 1887 to present.
The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycArticles is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®. Search interface: EBSCOHost.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.Citations and abstracts only but linked to PsycArticles.
Search interface: EBSCOHost.
BioMedCentral Open Access This link opens in a new window
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. All BioMed Central research articles can be browsed, downloaded and viewed without registering, but registration is required to search the site. Includes articles from 1999 to present.
Over 200 open-access journals; articles receive peer review.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000 academic journals and over 70,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
An index of sources covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Date coverage: 1965 to present. Updated daily.Citations and abstracts only.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
An index of journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950 to the present. It includes MEDLINE and some additional sources as well. Citations only.