duPont Library: Art History 314: The Global "Renaissance": 1400-1600: Images/Museums/Auction Records

Images

Artcyclopedia
An index that points the viewer to collections of artist's work found in museums and other web-site from around the world.

ARTstor now on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. Collections are rights-cleared for education and research. Users may create an account with their iu.edu email to save and organize sources and notes. Please note that content from the original Artstor platform has migrated to this resource. The old Artstor platform is set to be retired and will no longer available after August 1, 2024. Existing individual Artstor user accounts will carry over to this new platform.

Bridgeman Art Library
Major database for European and American art.
Google Art Project
Over 17 museums are represented in Google's project and more to come in the future. Individuals may zoom in and view gallery rooms and save images to albums.
Historical and Public Figures: A General Portrait File to the 1920s
"Over 30,00 portraits of a wide-range of public figures, including political, religious, cultural, literary and artistic personalities, with an emphasis on the 16th through the 19th-centuries. Includes some original prints, but is principally printed pictures."
New York Public Library Photograph Archive
American photographs from the 1860s-1920s in the New York Public Library.
Scholars Resource
Thousands of images are listed from various vendors under the Schloars Resource web-site. Brief information is provided and Sewanee clients can download selected images.
World Images
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.