Find Journal Articles - Religious Studies 308: Special Topics - "Religious Freedom" - duPont Library at University of the South

Religious Studies Databases

The indexes below are among the best to use when performing research in Religious Studies. For an expanded listing of possible resources, see the Religious Studies listing in the Electronic Databases by Subject. Use the Journal Finder to help you locate the full-text of articles you have identified in one or more of the indexes listed here. Just type in the title of the journal to see where it is available. If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program, which is linked below.

Preferred Databases

America: History & Life
An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Has indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present; also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Covers 1964 to present. Citations only with links to full text for some articles. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Sources are journal articles. Search interface is EBSCOHost.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Time period: 1700s-present
Location: North America
Primary sources and archival materials relating to American culture and history, mostly from the collections of the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.
Organized into more than 100 collections, each accompanied by a set of explanatory features designed to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. Comprises more than 9 million items including written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Freely accessible.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS contains more than 450 full text titles, including all ATLASerials titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Search interface: EBSCOhost.
Humanities Full Text
Included in OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson).
Index Religiosus
Provides citations to hundreds of journals in Theology and Canon Law, History of Theology, History of Religions, Old and New Testaments, Fundamental and Dogmatic Theology, Sacramentology and Liturgy, Moral and Pastoral Theology, Canon Law, and all aspects of Church History. Citations only (Click "Enter databases"; then select database.)
Combines the print Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses.
JSTOR
A collection of over 3,000 academic journals and over 70,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
Project MUSE
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the "Standard Collection" of journals (which is over 300 titles, but not all of the journals on the site) and have purchased a small number of ebooks. You may want to limit your search to "Only content I have full access to."
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
A collection of articles on religion and philosophy from popular and scholarly sources. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, Religion and Philosophy supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues. Coverage begins with 1980 for indexing, and 1983 for full text of some of the periodicals.
Search interface: Gale InfoTrac.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database that abstracts more than 1300 journals back to 1895 and contains full text for more than 860 journals back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Topics covered include: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Search interface: EBSCOHost.