The databases below are among the best to use when performing research in Film Studies. For an expanded listing of possible resources, see the Film Studies listing in the Electronic Databases by Subject. If the article’s full text is not immediately available, use the Journal Finder to help you locate the full-text. (Just type in the title of the journal to see where it is available.) If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Includes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the "Standard Collection" of journals (which is over 300 titles, but not all of the journals on the site) and have purchased a small number of ebooks. You may want to limit your search to "Only content I have full access to."
Provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Provides full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications (many of them peer-reviewed.) Also includes abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications. Covers every core undergraduate subject (sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and education) as well as cross-disciplinary areas such as ethnic studies, women’s studies, history. 1982 to present.
All the content of these full-text databases as well the full runs of every full-text journal they index: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. Also contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Contains abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications. Search interface: EBSCOhost.
A collection of over 3,000 academic journals and over 70,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
Facebook