duPont Library: Finance 201: Corporate Finance: Getting Started

Welcome

This guide is intended to direct you to fundamental resources to use when performing research in the area of finance. The resources here are by no means comprehensive, but are intended to help you achieve a sound start to your work.

Please feel free to contact me if you have suggestions for additions or other ways to improve this guide.

Credo Reference Search Box

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 3,000,000 reference entries on topics from all the major
academic subject areas serving as a great starting point for research. Full text articles plus images, audio files, and videos. Credo Reference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
Includes more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from 100 major publishers, such as ABC Clio, Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more.

Online Reference Collections

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains 187 fully-indexed, cross-searchable reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works in more than 20 subject areas.
We have the Premium Collection and the Western Civilization Collection.

Finance Resources Online

Knowledge@Wharton - Finance
This is a business analysis resource from Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The articles in the finance topic link to peer reviewed articles and other resources, even podcasts, that can help students studying finance.
HBS Working Knowledge - Finance
A repository of working knowledge from Harvard Business School
EDGAR from the SEC
This site from the US Security and Exchange Commission contains data and filings from millions of companies. Use the search tools to find real-time filings from specific companies.
Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary
This site is a helpful place to look up finance terms that may be less available in nonfinance reference sources like Wikipedia or Credo.

Finance News Resources

The Economist
The Library has a campus-wide site license for The Economist! With your Sewanee email address, you can create a free personal account. Our university site license includes full access to the website on your computer or mobile device with content back to 1997. You will also be able to listen to audio and podcasts, sign up for live digital events, and receive specialist newsletters.
Wall Street Journal
Find out how to activate your free Wall Street Journal subscription through Sewanee library.
New York Times
Instructions for how to get free access to the New York Times as Sewanee student, staff, or faculty

Other Helpful Skills

Polish some of the research skills that will be necessary for research, writing, and presentation across multiple academic disciplines.

Additional Research Skills

Jessie Ball duPont Library

Finance 201: Corporate Finance

Research Help Librarian