Skip to main content


Jessie Ball duPont Library

William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections

Search the Collections

An important message (updated 8/19/2020):
During the Fall Semester, the William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections will only be open to current students, faculty, and staff of the University.
Researchers from this group will be limited to four at a time and are asked to arrange visits in advance by contacting us via email at archives@sewanee.edu.
On site visits will be unavailable for all other parties. They are asked to submit their questions via email at the email address above. 
 
New Online Functionalities! 
Find out more about the databases and some helpful search tips in the Search the Collections tab.

 

In this unprecedented historical moment, the William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections ​invites University students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members to share your experiences during this challenging interlude of the COVID-19 pandemic. Find more information about the project and submitting your story here.

Hours and Contact Information

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 pm by appointment
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm open

Contact us
For any reference and research inquiries, please email us at archives@sewanee.edu or phone (931) 598-3212.

Our location
The William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections is located between the Jessie Ball duPont Library and the Police Department.  Find us on the campus map; we are listed under the Library category.

Visitors may park behind the library (the Georgia Avenue parking lot adjoining the Fire Hall).

University Archives and Special Collections

University Archives and Special Collections
at The University of the South is comprised of the following divisions: University Archives, the Personal Papers Collection, the Book Collections, the Museum Collection, the Permanent Collection of Decorative and Fine Arts, and the Records of the Episcopal Church Dioceses of Tennessee.

Explore Our Collections

Digital Collections

Mailing Address

William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections
The University of the South
735 University Ave.
Sewanee, TN
37383-1000

Quick Links