duPont Library: TigerSearch: Frequently Asked Questions

Questions and Answers about TigerSearch

When should I use TigerSearch?

TigerSearch is the place for general searches. With a single search, you can find all of the Library's materials, including articles. Use key words and phrases that you pull from your assignments or other sources to create a search.

The facets on the left give you lots of ways to target your results, by language, by geographic area, and by type of material, and also gives you ideas for related searches.

The TigerSearch articles search is great for searching multiple databases and journal collections all at the same time. You can choose groups of databases to search in using the subject portfolios at the left.

What does TigerSearch search?

TigerSearch searches our library’s holdings, which the Classic Catalog also searches, along with the contents of most of our databases. Some databases are not accessible to TigerSearch, so if you want to search those databases, you need to go to them directly. (See a list of databases not included in TigerSearch below.)

Is the old library catalog going away?

No, the original online catalog is still available. You can still search it by selecting "Catalog."

When should I use the old catalog?

The regular catalog can be used for keyword searches, much like TigerSearch. However, it is also useful for "known item searches." If you know the title or author of a book, for instance, the catalog makes it very easy to search. Once again, you may use key words or phrases to build a search. But you can also use footnotes and bibliographies to find specific sources for which you can search.

What advanced searches can I do in the TigerSearch search box?

The initial TigerSearch search is an "and" keyword search. You do not need to add the word AND.

Use "quotation marks" to search for words together as one phrase.

Truncation: enviro* pol* will yield books on environment, environment politics, environment policy, etc.

Databases not searchable through TigerSearch (you have to go to these databases individually in order to search their contents):

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the Chemical Abstracts Service databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. SciFinder-n includes journal and patent references,chemical regulatory data, and supplier, reaction, and substance information. New users must first register for an account at this link .
Requires registration and individual login, in addition to IP recognition and proxy access. Please contact Heidi Syler with questions about access, hsyler@sewanee.edu
Library of Latin Texts Online This link opens in a new window
The Library of Latin texts, Series A (LLT-A) contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. The Library of Latin Texts, Series B (LLT-B) offers the same research possibilities and functionalities as the LLT-A. The objective of the LLT-B is to put a large number of Latin texts into electronic form, at a rapid pace, in order to meet the needs of students and researchers. The material which makes up the LLT-B is taken directly from existing editions.
Sources Chrétiennes Online (SCO) This link opens in a new window
From its inception in 1942, the “Sources Chrétiennes” series (based in Lyon and published by Éditions du Cerf in Paris) has provided critical editions of texts from the first 1400 years of the Church, accompanied by a French translation as well as an introduction and notes. More precisely, the series consists of editions-with-translations of Christian texts in Greek and Latin, but also in oriental languages, such as Syriac, Aramaic and Georgian. The online database makes it possible to select texts along various criteria and to perform targeted searches both on the source texts and on the French translations that over the years have been published in the series. Allows 2 users at a time.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
CIAO is a unique source for theory and research in international affairs. It pulls together materials that are often not found in other databases, such as working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. The coverage extends back to 1991. Updated daily.
Proquest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text.
Includes: African American Poetry, American Drama 1714–1915, American Poetry, Annual Bibliography Of English Language And Literature, 1920– (Abell), Canadian Poetry, Early American Fiction 1789–1850, Early American Fiction 1789–1875, Early English Prose Fiction, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, English Drama (including Shakespeare), English Poetry, The Faber Poetry Library, King James Bible, Nineteenth-Century Fiction, Twentieth-Century African American Poetry, Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Twentieth-Century English Poetry.
Search interface: Chadwyck-Healey.

Also contains criticism (journal articles), Reference works, Biographies, Bibliographies, Websites, video clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work, Shakespeare audio plays.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Time Period: 1851-1997
Location: North America
Includes The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), The Washington Post (1877-1994.)
Proquest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains the content of several national and Tennessee newspapers, both historical and current. Indexes can be searched individually or in combination by names, events, and subjects. Updated daily.
Historical: Atlanta Constitution 1868-1945. Christian Science Monitor 1908-1996. New York Times 1851-2007. Wall Street Journal 1889-1993. Washington Post 1877-1994. Current: Chicago Tribune 1985-present. Los Angeles Times 1985-present. New York Times 1980-present. Wall Street Journal 1984-present. Washington Post 1987-present.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of over 210 newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. The alternative viewpoints and perspectives complement and challenge mainstream media coverage. Many of these publications are difficult to locate and acquire in their printed format. 1970 to present.
Search interface: ProQuest
National Newspapers Core Collection - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
A collection of several major daily newspapers, including: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. 1980 to present. Updated daily.
Search interface: Proquest.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Time period: 1740-1940
Location: North America
Contains digitized images of the pages of special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Search interface: ProQuest.

Jessie Ball duPont Library

TigerSearch

Go to TigerSearch now

Questions and Answers about TigerSearch