Databases are basically buckets full of articles, images, and other helpful stuff. Keywords tell databases what you want from the bucket.
The most helpful keywords are words that point only to the thing you want.
A word like fork is pretty ambiguous. It can refer to:
But if you use the word cutlery instead, it only points to silverware, making it much easier for the database to know what you want!
What keywords could you use to search for information to answer the following question:
How have indigenous peoples affected conservation efforts in the Amazon rainforest?
What other terms or synonyms could you use?
The databases listed here are among the best to use when performing research in Anthropology. For an expanded listing of possible resources, see the Anthropology listing in the Electronic Databases by Subject.
On JSTOR remember to select "Anthropology" under Subjects to limit your results to this field.
On AnthroSource you will often be asked if you want to "Use Token." Always use the token (that's why we have them!) but remember where you save the file. You should put it in Google Drive or email it to yourself. You don't want to have to use another token to download the same article again.
Anthropological Index Online is a great way to find article citations, but it will not give you the full text.
If the article’s full text is not immediately available, search for it by full title in TigerSearch or on Google Scholar. If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program. Usually, you'll get the article in 1-2 business days.
Use eHRAF to search for specific cultures or cultural concepts. This database is a lot different from other article databases since it is designed for the specific kind of research that anthropologists do. You probably won't understand it at first. If you're having trouble with eHRAF feel free to come into Research Help or make an appointment with us! We are happy to help!
Browsing books in the library can be a great way to find helpful information on your topic! If you find a book that fits your topic, note its call number and look at books around it. You can do that online using the Classic Catalog, but it's probably best to just come to the library! (The video below explains more about this.)
In the Library of Congress Classification Scheme, the GN section is labeled "Anthropology." In the Sewanee library, GN is on the main floor.
Read more about the organization of Subclass GN
Anthropology books are in many different sections in the library. Search TigerSearch and under "All Filters" limit "Location" to "Main Collection" to find out where your books might be! (Watch the video below to find out more about searching for books.)
This video explains how to see the physical books (and the ebooks) for a particular search, and shows how you can browse the library shelves from anywhere!
Google Scholar is a great place to search for specific articles.
All articles in the "Cited by" section will be published after the original article (otherwise, how could they cite it?), which is great if you're looking for recent articles.
This is called citation chaining. Read more about citation chaining here!
You can also search within the citing articles, just check the box that says "Search within citing articles" (highlighted in the screenshot below).
This allows you to search a group of articles on your general topic for a more specific keyword.
In the screenshot below, I searched the 564 articles that cited Alcorn's "Indigenous peoples and conservation" for the more specific phrase "amazon rainforest." You can see I got 114 results.
This video shows how to set up Google Scholar to show when results are available through the Sewanee library.
Facebook