duPont Library: LibGuide Redesign Prototype: Citing and Note-taking

Keep Track of What You Find

When using sources you find through TigerSearch and the library databases, there will usually be a cite button you can use to grab a citation.

This is the best way to save source you find.

They give you author and title information
They show the publisher or source
They usually also give you a web address to get back to where you found the source
If they don't give you a web address, just search for the title in TigerSearch to find it again

(Don't just copy a web address--those change and sometimes will not take you back to the source you found.)

This gif shows how to find the citation for a source in TigerSearch (if you don't see the Cite button, you probably need to sign in):

Don't forget to proofread the citation to make sure it conforms to style guidelines (more on style guidelines in the next tab!).

MLA Handbook Plus
MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, which is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Provides guidelines for American English writing style, grammar, punctuation, and citation. Users can choose either the 17th or 18th edition. The online version also includes tools (such as sample correspondence and proofreaders' marks), searchable Q&A entries, and a Quick Guide to citation.

Concise Guide to APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2020

ISBN: 9781433832734

Publication Date: 2019-12-01

Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Designed specifically for undergraduate writing, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. New to This Edition: full color throughoutcontent relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and morea new chapter focused on student papersa sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliographystreamlined APA Style headings and in-text citationsa new chapter on writing style and grammarchapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statisticsthe latest bias-free language guidelinesnew sample tables and figuresguidance on avoiding plagiarism and self-plagiarismnew reference templates and examples

Purdue Owl
The Purdue Owl is a classic source for citation help. It provides clear instructions about in text and reference citations for APA, Chicago, MLA and other citation styles.

Both Research Help and the Writing Center are available to help you with citations!

As you copy citations of sources that look helpful, paste them in a Google Doc or an email--something that will be easy to come back to and accessible from anywhere.
Write down a few notes when you save them about why you think this source will be helpful.
After you read the source, make a few notes about what it says and how that fits with your research question.

These simple notes can save you a lot of time when it comes to pulling your ideas together and developing this into a paper!

Find more information and tips on note taking in our Note Taking Guide!

Sewanee Writing Center

Visit the the Sewanee Writing Center web site to learn how to get advice on your writing. It is advised that you make an appointment with one of the writing tutors who are stationed in the library several hours each day.

Jessie Ball duPont Library

LibGuide Redesign Prototype

Keep Track of What You Find

Sewanee Writing Center