The indexes below are among the best to use when performing research in rhetoric and speech. Use the Journal Finder to help you locate the full-text of articles you have identified in one or more of the indexes listed here. Just type in the title of the journal to see where it is available. If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program, which is linked below.
Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for more than 400 journals, cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and selected coverage of more than 170 journals. Subject areas covered include communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals.
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
A collection of over 3,000 academic journals and over 70,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the "Standard Collection" of journals (which is over 300 titles, but not all of the journals on the site) and have purchased a small number of ebooks. You may want to limit your search to "Only content I have full access to."
A comprehensive sociology research database that abstracts more than 1300 journals back to 1895 and contains full text for more than 860 journals back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Topics covered include: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Search interface: EBSCOHost.
Provides access to the Congressional Digest and Supreme Court Debates Online academic database, which provides indexed, searchable PRO&CON® content dating back to 1921. Includes downloadable articles from each publication's archive - including archives of International Debates. Its aim is to provide an "impartial view of controversial issues". It is searchable by subject, journal, title or most recent issues of each journal title.
Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives. All programs since 1987 are digital and can be viewed online for free.
Includes addresses, interviews, broadcasts, ceremonies, call-in programs, news conferences, legislative sessions, committee hearings, debates, meetings, public affairs events, etc. The Archives records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
Statista is a platform of data and statistics on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista gathers data from a wide variety of government and commercial sources and presents it in an easy to search interface. Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint. Data sources are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets.
Facebook