duPont Library: Latin 336: Roman Philosophers: Find Journal Articles

Latin Databases

The indexes below are among the best to use when performing research in Latin. For an expanded listing of possible resources, see the Latin and Classics listings in the Electronic Databases by Subject. Use the Journal Finder to help you locate the full-text of articles you have identified in one or more of the indexes listed here. Just type in the title of the journal to see where it is available. If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program, which is linked below.

Preferred Databases

L'Année Philologique
The most comprehensive index for scholarly research in Classical Studies. Covers all aspects of Classical Studies, including: literature, linguistics, history, philosophy, archaeology, art, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1924 to present. Updated annually. Abstracts only. (Click "Enter databases"; then select database.)
The database indexes articles in hundreds of scholarly journals, books, theses, and conference proceedings, in many languages, and provides brief abstracts describing their content. For major scholarly books it also indexes the most important reviews.
Loeb Classical Library
Over 520 volumes of important works of ancient Greek and Latin literature presented with English translations. Allows readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. It consists of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. Perseus includes interactive online tools (e.g. map creator, Greek and Latin vocabulary tools). The project continues to explore new ways of presenting complex resources for electronic publication.
Collections include:
Greek and Roman Materials -- Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome

Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser -- Look through a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object.

Arabic Materials -- Arabic language documents

Germanic Materials -- Materials for the study of the Germanic Peoples

19th-Century American -- Sources on the history of the 19th-century United States.

Renaissance Materials -- Primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature

Richmond Times Dispatch -- Issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch.

Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin -- Latin poems produced in Italy or in Italian cultural environments during the period starting from around the birth of Dante until the first half of the sixteenth century.
Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. Date coverage: 1959 to present.Citations only.
Nestor includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research, if the specific bibliographic items contain Aegean artifacts, imitations, or influences, or make reference to Aegean comparanda. Nestor's chronological range is the prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
A collection of literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8th century B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Users must create their own personal user profile (Username and Password) in addition to connecting through the Library.
JSTOR
A collection of over 3,000 academic journals and over 70,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Search interface: EBSCOhost.