The databases listed here are among the best to use when performing research in Anthropology. For an expanded listing of possible resources, see the Anthropology listing in the Electronic Databases by Subject. If the article’s full text is not immediately available, use the Journal Finder to help you locate the full-text. (Just type in the title of the journal to see where it is available.) If we do not have access to it, you can request the article via Sewanee ILL, our interlibrary loan program.
AIO provides indexing to a vast collection of anthropological literature held by the Anthropology Library at the British Museum, with coverage back to 1957. Because some of the journals are somewhat obscure, it is likely that many articles you find will need to be requested via interlibrary loan. Citations only.
A collection of Anthropology journals from the American Anthropology Association. We have full-text access to most of the titles from 1997 through the Wiley Online Library interface.
A collection of over 3,000 academic journals and over 70,000 ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes over a million images, letters, and other primary sources. Most journals are covered from their first issue up to 3-5 years from the current year, and include previous titles. Also includes the current issues of some titles. Note: there are some journals in JSTOR for which Sewanee does not have full-text access. In the Advanced search you can limit to only the content available to you.
Provides full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications (many of them peer-reviewed.) Also includes abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications. Covers every core undergraduate subject (sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and education) as well as cross-disciplinary areas such as ethnic studies, women’s studies, history. 1982 to present.
All the content of these full-text databases as well the full runs of every full-text journal they index: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. Also contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Contains abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 publications. Search interface: EBSCOhost.
A comprehensive sociology research database that abstracts more than 1300 journals back to 1895 and contains full text for more than 860 journals back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Topics covered include: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Search interface: EBSCOHost.
Facebook