It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jessie Ball duPont Library
English 359: Renaissance Literature I
A guide to basic information resources on Renaissance Literature I, English 359.
Time Period: 1473-1700
Location: North America, Europe
A collection of digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Sources: Early English Books I (Pollard & Redgrave, STC I), 1475-1640, Early English Books II (Wing, STC II), 1641-1700, Thomason Tracts.
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text.
Includes: African American Poetry, American Drama 1714–1915, American Poetry, Annual Bibliography Of English Language And Literature, 1920– (Abell), Canadian Poetry, Early American Fiction 1789–1850, Early American Fiction 1789–1875, Early English Prose Fiction, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, English Drama (including Shakespeare), English Poetry, The Faber Poetry Library, King James Bible, Nineteenth-Century Fiction, Twentieth-Century African American Poetry, Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Twentieth-Century English Poetry.
Search interface: Chadwyck-Healey.
Also contains criticism (journal articles), Reference works, Biographies, Bibliographies, Websites, video clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work, Shakespeare audio plays.
The works of these poets and commentary on their poetry: John Donne, George Herbert, Henry Vaughan, Edward, Lord Herbert of Chirbury, Richard Crashaw, Thomas Carew, Richard Lovelace, Andrew Marvell, Sir John Suckling