duPont Library: William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections: Home

Online Functionalities

Find out more about the databases and some helpful search tips in the Search the Collections tab.

We now have an online search function for our collection descriptions in ArchivesSpace.
Searching our digital images is also more user-friendly with JSTOR (formerly Artstor).
Digitized versions of institutional publications can be viewed on DSpace.
View digitized copies of the Proceedings of the Board of Trustees on the Internet Archive.

Hours and Contact Information

Hours

14-15 October 2024 = By Appointment Only

Monday-Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 pm by appointment
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm open

Contact us
For any reference and research inquiries, please email us at archives@sewanee.edu or phone (931) 598-3212.

Our location
The William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections is located between the Jessie Ball duPont Library and the Police Department. Find us on the campus map; we are listed under the Library category.

Visitor parking spots are available behind the Library (the Georgia Avenue parking lot adjoining the Fire Hall).

University Archives and Special Collections

University Archives and Special Collections
at The University of the South is comprised of the following divisions: University Archives, the Personal Papers Collection, the Book Collections, the Museum Collection, the Permanent Collection of Decorative and Fine Arts, and the Records of the Episcopal Church Dioceses of Tennessee.

Explore Our Collections

University Archives
University Archives serves as the official repository for the records of the University of the South. They document the university's decision- making processes, culture, policies, events, employees, and alumni. The retention, preservation, and accessibility of these materials support the university’s commitment to instruction, research, and community service.
Book Collections
In the Library catalog, use Library Location to limit your search to Archives, Special Collections, and/or Theology Special Collections. Our book collections total nearly 30,000 volumes and are divided between the Archives and Special Collections book collections. The Archives Collection focuses on the University of the South, its faculty and alumni, and Sewanee. The Special Collections book collections reflect the history of the book featuring incunabula, special bindings, and unique artists' books.
Personal Papers
The Personal Papers Collection includes materials produced by Sewanee professors, administrators, alumni, community figures, and more. It also includes papers and manuscripts associated with authors, playwrights, and editors of The Sewanee Review, the Sewanee School of Letters, and the Sewanee Writers' Conference.
Museum Collections
The Museum Collection contains a wide array of unique and interesting objects donated to the university and collected by the Archives. Often used in exhibits and research, these items lend a striking visual component to our holdings and serve to put many of our print and manuscript collections in their historical context.
Permanent Collection of Fine and Decorative Arts
This collection features more than two thousand decorative and fine arts pieces owned by the university including paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, silver, china and more. It includes works from artists such as Goya, Rembrandt and Jonathan Green. Most of these works can be viewed online via Artstor Digital Library (University ID and password required for off-campus access).
Episcopal Church Dioceses of Tennessee Records
This collection, focusing on the materials produced and held by the Diocese of Tennessee, includes histories, monographs, biographical information, works on theology and Episcopal doctrine, and liturgical works.

Digital Collections

Student Newspapers
Titles include The Sewanee Purple, The Sewanee Daily Times, and many earlier titles that that illustrate student life and times on the mountain.
Student Yearbooks
This collection includes volumes of the The Cap and Gown dating from 1891 2010.
More Digital Resources

Mailing Address

William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections
The University of the South
735 University Ave.
Sewanee, TN
37383-1000

Quick Links

Hours

Library research questions can be directed to: research@sewanee.edu

In this unprecedented historical moment, the William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections invites University students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members to share your experiences during this challenging interlude of the COVID-19 pandemic. Find more information about the project and submitting your story here.

Jessie Ball duPont Library

William R. Laurie University Archives and Special Collections

Online Functionalities

Find out more about the databases and some helpful search tips in the Search the Collections tab.

We now have an online search function for our collection descriptions in ArchivesSpace.

Searching our digital images is also more user-friendly with JSTOR (formerly Artstor).

Digitized versions of institutional publications can be viewed on DSpace.