duPont Library: Rhetoric 311: U.S. Public Address I: 1620-1865: Primary Sources

Historical Rhetoric

History Commons
Time period: 1827-1923
Location: North America
Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture have been assembled into comprehensive databases. These databases allow access to the rich store of materials from leading books, newspapers, and periodicals.
Collections include: African American Newspapers, African American Newspapers in the South, American County Histories, American Inventor, Anatomy of Protest in America (1701-1928), Colonial Newspapers, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Native Americans in History, North American Women's Magazines & Newspapers, Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, Quarantine and Disease Control in American, The Civil War Collection, Women's Suffrage Collection, and World War I: Military Camp Newspapers.
America's Historical Imprints - Evans
Time period: 1639-1800
Location: North America
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides covering American life from the 17th and 18th centuries. Part of the Archive of Americana.
Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society. Includes thousands of books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
America's Historical Imprints - Shaw-Shoemaker
Time period: 1801-1819
Location: North America
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides covering American life from the early 19th century. Part of the Archive of Americana.
Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes.
America's Historical Newspapers
Time Period: 1690-1922
Location: North America
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes the following collections:
Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690 - 1876), From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758 - 1900), The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829 - 1922), From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4 (1756 - 1922), The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5 (1777 - 1922), An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 18 (1825 - 1879), Racial Awakening in the Northeast
Early American Newspapers, Series 19 (1766 - 1877), The Politics of Race in the South
America: History & Life
An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Has indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present; also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Covers 1964 to present. Citations only with links to full text for some articles. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Sources are journal articles. Search interface is EBSCOHost.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Time period: 1749-1900
Location: North America
Rare printed pages that were created in response to specific popular or newsworthy issues and events, vividly capture the daily lives of earlier Americans in a unique way. Note: Searching is combined with America's Historical Imprints so choose that option from the menu after you connect.
The subjects of broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Also offers autobiographies and dying confessions of convicted criminals, theater playbills, sheet almanacs, publishers’ prospectuses, advertisements, newspaper carriers’ addresses, patriotic and popular songs and poems and items illustrating political party organizations and controversies. Search interface is Readex.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Time period: 1749-1900
Location: North America
Rare printed pages that were created in response to specific popular or newsworthy issues and events, vividly capture the daily lives of earlier Americans in a unique way. Note: Searching is combined with America's Historical Imprints so choose that option from the menu after you connect.
The subjects of broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Also offers autobiographies and dying confessions of convicted criminals, theater playbills, sheet almanacs, publishers’ prospectuses, advertisements, newspaper carriers’ addresses, patriotic and popular songs and poems and items illustrating political party organizations and controversies. Search interface is Readex.
American Periodicals
Time period: 1740-1940
Location: North America
Contains digitized images of the pages of special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Search interface: ProQuest.
Archive of Americana
Time Period: 1690-1980
Location: North America
Digitized books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Contains several primary source collections: America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, House and Senate Journals, Senate Executive Journals.
Search interface: Readex
Black Studies Center
Time Period: 1827-1975
Location: North America, Africa, South America, Europe, Asia, Oceania
Essays, primary sources, biographies, timelines, and other materials including documents from historic newspapers and magazines for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.. Includes Black Studies Periodicals database and Black Literature Index 1827-1940. Supports Black Studies, History, Literature, Women's Studies and Religion. Time period: 1827-1975.
Includes Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- cross-disciplinary essays by today's leading scholars in Black Studies; backfiles of leading African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender, 1910-1975;journals from Africa, the U.S., and the Caribbean; 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Time Period: 1777-1963
Location: North America
A collection of digitized pages of newspapers from many states in the U.S. published between 1836 and 1922. Also includes directory information about American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.
Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
America's Historical Newspapers
Time Period: 1690-1922
Location: North America
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes the following collections:
Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690 - 1876), From Colonies to Nation
Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758 - 1900), The New Republic
Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829 - 1922), From Farm to City
Early American Newspapers, Series 4 (1756 - 1922), The Rise of Industry
Early American Newspapers, Series 5 (1777 - 1922), An Emerging World Power
Early American Newspapers, Series 18 (1825 - 1879), Racial Awakening in the Northeast
Early American Newspapers, Series 19 (1766 - 1877), The Politics of Race in the South
Gale Primary Sources
Allows cross-searching of all of our Gale primary source databases. Currently includes: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Time Period: 1600-2000
Location: North America
A collection of digitized primary sources that document women's activism in United States public life. The collection includes books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, publications of state and local commissions on women, and ephemera.
There are multiple ways to identify relevant documents within the database. The database contains over 130 Document Projects, each of which consists of an interpretive question and a series of primary source documents that address that question. The database also includes an index of people, an index and dictionary of social movements, a chronology of U.S. women’s history, indexing by organization, and indexing by subject. Additional features include reflections by present-day scholars of women’s history, book reviews, teaching strategies, the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, and the Online Biographical Dictionary of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States.

Jessie Ball duPont Library

Rhetoric 311: U.S. Public Address I: 1620-1865

Historical Rhetoric