Skip to main content

University Archives and Special Collections: Citing Our Resources

Citing Archival Resources: Introduction

The holdings of University Archives and Special Collections are sometimes markedly different from those found in the duPont Library. . Though we have a number of traditionally published books and other works, a significant amount of our resources are of a singular nature. A variety of formats are represented in the collections, including photographs; pieces of correspondence; diaries; drafts and manuscripts of works which later make their way into print; maps; printed ephemera (such as programs, schedules, tickets, or brochures); and posters or broadsides.

Theses unique items can sometimes present difficulty at the time of citation construction. This guide presents several examples of the types of materials that researchers encounter when working in archives.

Citation Essentials

These are the basic elements to a proper citation:

  1. Author or creator's name
  2. Title of the work
  3. Date
  4. Publication information (if any)
  5. Collection name
  6. Box and folder (if applicable)
  7. Repository name

Remember to always take good notes when doing your research. It is better to have all information on hand for a potential source that to have to relocate it later!

Microfilm

Manuscripts on Microfilm

Loyalty Oath - William S. Lowell. December 23, 1865. Lovell Family Papers, 1844-1954, Reel 2. Microfilm Collection, University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South

Public Records

Will of Thomas Silman. April 8, 1816. Franklin County TN Will Books, 1808-1876, Reel 97. Microfilm Collection, University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South

 

Books and other traditionally published materials

Most of our book collections are made up of materials are traditionally published and the publication information is easily found. One would cite them as you would any other book or journal article. Be sure to check with your professor to ensure that you are following their preferred citation style.

Personal Papers (manuscript collections)

Letter (unpublished)

Polk, George Washington to Captain James K. Polk. January 17, 1880. Polk Family Papers, P090. Box 16, Folder 147. University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.

Diary

Charles Quintard Papers, P093. Diary, No. 35, entry for September 29, 1897. University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.

University Records

Athletics: Athletic Board of Control, U02. Report of the Sewanee - Alabama Game, Birmingham, AL. November 3, 1917. Box 3, Folder "General Correspondence 1915-1921". University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South

Vertical and Photo Files

Vertical and biographical files can contain newspaper clippings,brochures, brief manuscripts, and other ephemera. Describe the item by name or title, author, date, and name of file.

Vertical File
WUTS Playlist,” May 21, 1976. WUTS Vertical File. University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.

Photographic File
Harry Hardeman Graham as a youth in military dress,” photograph. Date unknown. People Photo Collection: Graham, Harry Hardeman. University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.

Biographical File

Christmas Greetings from Empress Johnnie the First of Tuckawaya,” post card. Date unknown. Biographical File: Tucker, Miss Johnnie. University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.
 

Maps and Architectural Drawings

Maps

Charles E. Cheston. Topographic Map of Cemetery Area. June, 1948 [map]. Map Collection, University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.

Architectural Drawings

Charles E. Cheston. Bishop Bratton Memorial Bridge, Sewanee, Tennessee. February, 1946 [architectural drawing]. Architecture Collection, University Archives and Special Collections, The University of the South.

Other Resources

 

Jessie Ball duPont Library, University of the South
178 Georgia Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383
931.598.1664