Skip to main content


Jessie Ball duPont Library

Using Zoom for Meetings

Tips

  • Choose Your View: Gallery View lets you see everyone in the meeting at once (depending on screen resolution and meeting size--up to 49 people). The person speaking will be highlighted with a yellow border. Speaker View places the person speaking in a large box in the center of the screen. You can toggle back and forth using these icons at the top right of the screen:
  • Hide Non-Video Participants: Automatically hide those who do not have their camera on so you can focus those who do. This is especially useful if there are many participants in a meeting. Click on the up arrow beside the Start/Stop Video button at the lower left of the screen. Choose Video Settings. Under the Meetings section, choose "Hide Non-video Participants."
  • Stop Full Screen View: Some features of Zoom send participants' Zoom meeting app into full screen mode. If you would like to get out of full screen, hit your computer's Escape button, or double-click anywhere on the screen

Settings and Virtual Backgrounds

1. Two basic settings you may want to change are your profile picture and your displayed name. During a meeting, hover over your name and click on the More button.

  • Changes to your screen name here (if allowed by the meeting host) are good only for this particular meeting.
  • However, any changes to your profile picture will apply for all meetings until you change it again.

2. To permanently change or correct your Zoom profile name, you will need to edit it via the Zoom website (zoom.us). If you are not already signed in, choose Sign In with Google and sign in with your Sewanee email and password.

3. Choose Profile in the left column. Here you can edit your name, your profile picture, and more.

  • Do NOT update your password or sign-in email. These are tied into and use our regular Sewanee emails and passwords.

4. To display a virtual background, click the up arrow by the Start/Stop Video and choose Virtual Background. A window will pop up with background options and your video feed to preview the background (this does not show to other meeting participants).

  • You can upload your own background by clicking the Plus button in the pop up window.
  • Some computers cannot run virtual backgrounds, it depends on the computer processor and/or operating system.

Scheduling Meetings: Through Google Calendar

1. In your Google Calendar scheduling pop up, click the "Add rooms, locations, or conferencing" option.

  • The first time you schedule a Zoom meeting this way, you will need to be signed into Zoom and to allow Zoom access to your Google calendar (via a pop up window).

2. Click "Add conferencing" and choose the Zoom option. Add guests as you normally would.

3. Click Save and and then Send to automaticaly email meeting invitations.

4. The emailed meeting invites include everything the attendees need to join, for whichever way they want to join (video or phone).

Joining a Meeting

1. If the Zoom meeting is on your calendar, click on the meeting. Then click on Join Zoom Meeting.

2. The Zoom application will automatically open. Click on Open Link at the bottom of the pop up window.

3. The next pop up will ask to choose your audio options. Click on Join with Computer Audio.

4. You may need to mute/unmute your microphone, or start/stop your video camera depending on your settings and the meeting host's settings.

Hosting a Meeting: Starting the Meeting

1. If the Zoom meeting is on your calendar, click on the meeting. Then click on Join Zoom Meeting.

2. If you are already signed into Zoom via the desktop client (recommended) you will automatically be identified as the host. Verify your status by clicking the Participants/Manage Participants button (bottom of screen) to pull up the list of attendees.

3. If you are NOT already signed into Zoom, when you reach the meeting you will need to claim the host function. Click the 3 dots at the bottom of your participant window and choose Claim Host.

4. Choose Sign In to Claim Host. Then choose Sign In with Google and sign in with your Sewanee email and password.

Hosting a Meeting: Managing Participants

1. As the host (or co-host) of a meeting you have some basic options for managing participants. In the Participants window (click on Manage Participants to open) hover over specific names to see individual manangement options.

2. Clicking on the More button provides additional options.

3. You also have options for managing all of the participants at once. You can mute or unmute everyone and the 3 dots button offers additional options.

4. Muting/Unmuting and Starting/Stopping Video of Participants

  • As the host you can Mute All participants. If you muted everyone, when you click Unmute All, each participant--who was muted by you--will receive a brief notification on their screen that the host has unmuted them, and they will be automatically unmuted.
  • If the participant has muted themself, even when the Unmute All button is clicked, the self-muted participant will have the option to unmute or not.
  • If the participant has muted themself, you can ask them to unmute. They choose whether or not to unmute their microphone.
  • The host can always stop a participant's video.
  • Anytime the host asks a participant to start their video, the participant always has the choice to start or not start their own video.

Hosting a Meeting: Security Features

1. Click on the Security button to see your options.

2. If ALL of the participants are present in the meeting you can enable Lock Meeting. Once a meeting is locked, no one will be able to join (even with an invitation).

  • If a participant leaves the meeting and tries to come back, they will not be able to re-join.
  • The host does not receive any notification of attempts to join a locked meeting.

3. If the Waiting Room is enabled, a participant must receive your approval before being allowed to join the meeting.

4. You can always Remove Participants. Hover over an individual's name in the Partcipants window and click on More. Remove is at the bottom of the list. Or, you can click on the Security button and have the Remove option for multiple participants.

Hosting a Meeting: Sharing a Screen and Whiteboards

1. Click on the green Share Screen button at the bottom of your screen to pull up sharing options. Options are based on what windows and applications you have open on your computer at that time.

2. Sharing a screen is usually a better option than sharing only a window or application. Sharing your screen allows the meeting participants to see your computer screen as you do and allows you to navigate your computer as usual.

  • When sharing only a window or application, anytime you want to show a different format you will have to stop the current share and open a new Screen Share.
  • Power Points, videos, etc. can all be run via the Screen Share.
  • If you will be sharing audio or video, make sure to click the options at the bottom of the Screen Share window.
  • You (and your participants if you allow) can annotate on any screen share format. In the shared screen, choose Annotate from the toolbar at the top of the screen. Participants have to click the More button to reach the Annotate option.

 

3. Choosing to share the White Board allows you (and your participants if you allow) the ability to take notes or document brainstorming sessions. You can find additional permissions by clicking on the More button.

4. You (or your participants) can save the shared screen and its annotations at any time by clicking the Save button. When you done sharing your screen, simply click the red Stop Share button at the top.