duPont Library: Psychology 190: Introductory Psychology: Find Popular Media

Search Databases for Popular Media

Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.
News (Gale OneFile)
A full-text newspaper database that provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
U.S. Newsstream
This contemporary news collection delivers current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Includes: Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Huffington Post, LA Times, and many others.

Alt-Press Watch
A full text database of over 210 newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. The alternative viewpoints and perspectives complement and challenge mainstream media coverage. Many of these publications are difficult to locate and acquire in their printed format. 1970 to present.

Search interface: ProQuest
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.