It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jessie Ball duPont Library
Sewanee School of Theology Library Guide
Gathering of information especially for the students at the School of Theology
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Please, make use of it with confidence!
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional materials provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. B. White; Roger Angell (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. The revisions to the new edition are purposely kept minimal in order to retain the book's unique tone, wit, and charm. A new Glossary of the grammatical terms used in the book provides a convenient reference for readers. The discussion of pronoun use is revised to reflect the contemporary concern with sexist language. In addition, there are numerous slight revisions in the book itself which implement this advice. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book has conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
A Rulebook for Arguments by Anthony Weston
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
From academic writing to personal and public discourse, the need for good arguments and better ways of arguing is greater than ever before. This timely fifth edition of A Rulebook for Arguments sharpens an already-classic text, adding updated examples and a new chapter on public debates that provides rules for the etiquette and ethics of sound public dialogue as well as clear and sound thinking in general.
The Seminary Student Writes by Deborah Core
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Deborah Core offers practical guidance for beginning seminary students who feel overwhelmed and under-prepared to write the number and quality of papers their courses require. The book begins with reflections on writing as a sacred action, then addresses such practical matters as choosing and researching a topic; outlining, drafting, and polishing a paper; and using the proper format for footnotes and bibliography. Also included are sample papers in MLA and Chicago styles and an overview of grammar and usage.
The SBL Handbook of Style has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest practices among scholars, editors, and publishers as well as to take into account current trends in scholarly publishing. This edition has been meticulously supplemented with important new subject matter that fills gaps in the first edition. New material include: clearer and more comprehensive guideline for authors in preparing manuscripts for publication, including a discussion on Unicode fonts; an expanded list of authorities; expanded guidelines on style rules for numbers; a list of ancient Near Eastern archaeological site names; an expansive discussion of the treatment of quranic sources; an expanded and improved list of capitalization and spelling examples; addition of a section on Islamic dates; an introduction on the principles of transliteration and transcription; addition of capital letters to the transliteration scheme for Greek; a substantially revised and updated discussion of Akkadian transliteration; addition of Sumerian, Hittite, Old Persian, Moabite, Edomite, Ammonite, Syriac, Mandaic, Ethiopic, Arabic, and Turkish to the list of ancient languages treated; a more complete discussion of the rules of citation; new rules for the treatment of Latin titles; a comprehensive list of publishers and their places of publication; an explanation of electronic resource identifiers (DOIs versus URLs); detailed guidelines for citing a variety of electronic sources; clearer and more comprehensive guidelines for preparing indexes; an expanded list of technical abbreviations; expanded coverage of rabbinic works and ancient codices; a thoroughly updated and expanded list of secondary sources.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGerald
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
The SBL Handbook of Style by Patrick H. Alexander (Editor); John F. Kutsko (Editor); James D. Ernest (Editor); Shirley Decker-Lucke (Editor); David L. Petersen (Editor)
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
""The SBL Handbook of Style" is an astonishing book, a true 'one-stop' reference for authors preparing manuscripts in biblical studies and related fields. It covers an amazing range of topics, from what every literate scholar should know (but may not) to what only the most erudite expert in an obscure sub-field of the discipline would be likely to know. Do you need to know how to cite an internet publication? Whose job it is to prepare the index and secure permissions? How to alphabetize Abraham ibn Ezra (and why)? What the abbreviation "AAeg" stands for? It's all here. This volume should substantially reduce the incidence of tears and tantrums that so often beset the process of manuscript preparation. Before long biblical scholars will wonder how we ever got along without this indispensable reference work. Every graduate program should make "The SBL Handbook of Style" a required text." -Carol A. Newsom, Professor of Old Testament, Emory University " . . . A major service for the community of biblical scholars. This comprehensive but handy stylesheet, building on the base of the SBL guidelines, incorporates all that most authors and editors currently need to know about the technical dimensions of publishing activity, from commas and hyphens to abbreviations, from transliterations to forms of annotation. All that's left to authors is to come up with good ideas. All editors have to do is to learn what is here." --Harold W. Attridge, Lillian Claus Professor of New Testament, Yale Divinity School
Appointments: general Information
For setting appointments with our School of Theology Writing tutors, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
What can you expect in a 30 min. appointment:
1. Help with partial proofreading of your paper beyond grammarly.com
2. Help with formatting your paper/presentation beyond the SBL Manual of Style guidelines
3. Help with creating a bibliography beyond zotero.com
4. Help to refine your introduction/thesis statement beyond the "problem model"
5. Help with refining your paragraph points beyond the "sandwiching technique"
6. Help with evaluating the logic of your argument beyond Weston's Rulebook for Arguments
7. Help with evaluating the style of your paper beyond Strunk & White's Elements of Style
For professional proof-reading and copy-editing, you will need to hire a specialized professional, however, our very friendly and competent graduate writing assistant(s) will be glad to work with you on refining your assignments and getting you started.
Andrew Sloan's consultation hours, by appointment only, via ZOOM:
(Wednesdays 11 am - 12 pm /Thursdays 11:00 am - 3:00 pm)
Derek Quinn's consultation hours, by appointment only, via ZOOM: