Webinar Title: Literature Online on the ProQuest platform.

Description:  This recorded webinar provides an overview of Literature Online on the ProQuest platform, the available collections (including LION Premium), the content types and the basic and advanced search features (including author pages, word variants searching and result pages).

Duration:  33 minutes.

Video Title: Literature Online on the ProQuest platform.

Description:  This recorded video provides a demonstration of Literature Online on the ProQuest platform.

Duration:  6.50 minutes

Description and Objectives: 

This session introduces researchers to the Basic Search on the ProQuest platform, and the options available for building and customizing successful searches.  Objectives include the following:

• Identify features that help provide effective and rapid searches
• Discover options for resetting to a collection or subject areas
• Locate commonly available search fields and operators

Duration: 5 minutes

Module: ProQuest Platform Advanced Search

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session covers Advanced Search on the ProQuest platform, and looks at provided indexing, searchable fields and available search options, as well as differences in advanced search options that may be encountered when working with a specific collection or groups of collections.  Objectives include the following:

• Locate and use easy to access searchable fields and indexes
• Illustrate flexibility of Advanced Search across different collection sets
• Organize searches of greater complexity and accuracy accessing Command Line and Thesaurus

Duration: 5 minutes

Module: ProQuest Platform Search Results

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session reviews the search results page on the ProQuest platform, discusses narrowing features through facets, identifying and utilizing content through provided research tools and links, and options for reviewing and conducting research within a search result.  Objectives include the following:

• Revise results to improve content relevancy
• Examine typical result items and access incorporated research aids
• Organize and Manage research content

Duration: 5.5 minutes

Module: Ebook Central on ProQuest

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session covers Ebook Central integration into the ProQuest platform, and focuses on how to locate and isolate Ebook Central content when searching, as well as the features associated with accessing and working with Ebook Central resources within ProQuest.  Objectives include the following:

• Retrieve Ebook Central content from the ProQuest platform
• Identify essential Ebook Central features on the ProQuest platform

Duration: 5 minutes

Module: Academic Video Online on ProQuest

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session covers Academic Video Online integration into the ProQuest platform, and focuses on how to locate and isolate Academic Video Online content when searching, as well as the features associated with accessing and working with Academic Video Online resources within ProQuest.  Objectives include the following:

• Retrieve Academic Video Online content from the ProQuest platform
• Identify essential Academic Video Online features on the ProQuest platform

Duration: 4 minutes

Module: ProQuest Platform Publications

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session covers the Publications tab on the ProQuest platform, and focuses on how to search for specific publications and view their details, as well as narrow publication lists by source type, language, publisher, and database collection.  Objectives include the following:

• Locate search components in Publications and discover specific publications of interest
• Assess, track, search, or browse publications for research

Duration: 5.25 minutes

Module: ProQuest Platform Thesaurus

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session covers the Thesaurus option on the ProQuest platform, and focuses on locating and identifying the options available in the thesaurus, as well as deriving and adding terms to a search.  The session additionally introduces an example of the discipline-specific thesauri available in the ProQuest platform for selected collections.  Objectives include the following:

• Select thesaurus options in order to locate relevant search terms.
• Derive terms from ProQuest Thesaurus and apply them to a search.
• Evaluate and use the discipline-specific thesauri available in select ProQuest database collections.

Duration: 5.50 minutes

Module: ProQuest Platform Search Strategy Tips

Intended Audience: All users and administrators

Description and Objectives: 

This session covers ProQuest Platform search syntax defaults and discusses options for broadening or narrowing search strategies.  Objectives include the following:

• Incorporate search syntax into queries
• Employ logical operators and proximity to focus a search query
• Use truncation to efficiently incorporate word variations in a search

Duration: 6.25 minutes