Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Accession Number

AN

AN(2005580185)

A unique number that identifies a specific document.

Anywhere

ALL

ALL(teaching Dante)

ALL searches anywhere in the document, including the full text whenever is available.

Anywhere except Full Text

NOFT

NOFT(Dante)

searches anywhere in the document, except the full text whenever is available.

Author

AU

AU(Almond Ian)

AU(Geoffrey Chaucer)

Use to find documents or works written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author, or search for last name only for a broader search. 

Recommended using the look up list.

Author as subject

SAU

SAU(Samuel Beckett)

Person who is the subject of the document. Note that this field also contains the titles of anonymous works, folk works and other works that lack an identified author, e.g. 'Beowulf', 'The Sopranos'.   Applies to the Criticism content type.

Author's work

SWK("Waiting for Godot")

Work of literature discussed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Document Text

FT

FT(jealous lover)

FT searches in the complete text of the document

Document Title

TI

TI(Determiner Phrase and Definiteness in Old High German)

TI(Taming the shrew)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the document.

Document Type

DTYPE

DTYPE(book)

The document's type - book (monograph, collection of essays, or article within), dissertation abstract, (scholarly) edition, journal article, translation or website.

For ABELL the Doc types are: Article, Book, Review

Ethnicity

ETH

ETH(Hispanic-american)

Search for works created by authors of a specific ethnicity. It is important to note that the vast majority of authors in Literature Online have not been indexed by ethnicity. This search will only retrieve hits for those authors who belong to one of the ethnic groups which we have selected for inclusion in our database. These ethnicities have been selected on the grounds that their cultures have become significant areas of study for literary and cultural scholars.

Folklore Topic

FLK

FLK(ethnomusicology)

Subject in folklore studies addressed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Genre

GEN

GEN(science fiction)

Literary genre addressed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

International Standard Book Number (ISBN)

ISBN

ISBN(0820472077)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

International Standard Serials Number (ISSN)

ISSN

ISSN(0002-7294)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language of publication

PLB

PLB(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Linguistics Topic

LIN

LIN(phonetics)

Subject in linguistics addressed in the document. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literary Influence

LIF

LIF(feminist writers)

Person or thing that has been influenced by the subject defined in the classification. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literary Movement

LTM

LTM(HUMANISM)

Search for works defined by a particular style or writing, group of writers, or other influencing factors. Many of these terms, such as "Pre-Raphaelitism", were used by the authors themselves. Others, such as "Metaphysical Poets", were only later applied to groups of authors by critics. In these cases we have taken current critical usage into account in assigning authors to movements. In particular, the terms "Lesbian/Gay writing, 1885-", "Feminist Writers, 1900-", and "Postcolonialism, 20th Century" include many authors who did not announce themselves as homosexual, feminist or postcolonialist, but whose work has been discussed in relation to those themes.

Literary Period

LTP

LTP("Middle English Period")

Search for works written during a defined period of literary history. All authors in Literature Online have been indexed by literary period, with each author being assigned to the period(s) in which he or she flourished. To be included in a given period, an author must have produced either a substantial amount of work, or some of his/her most well-known work within the dates of that period.

Literary Source

LSO

LSO(bible)

Person or thing that has influenced the subject defined in the classification. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Literary Theme

LTH

LTH(cowboy)

Theme addressed in the document.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

GLT(Arthurian legend)

Subject in literary studies addressed in the document. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Subject Heading

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT.EXACT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

Nationality

NAT

NAT("South Asian")

NAT(Caribbean)

Nationality of the person or works adressed in the document.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

National Literature

NL

NT(Turkish literature)

Use the National Literature field to search for subject terms relating to specific national literatures, e.g. 'German literature'. 

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Performance Medium

MED

MED(film)

Film, theater, opera, television, or radio as subject of the document.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Period

TIM

TIM(1900-1999)

Span of one or several hundred years as appropriate to the subject.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Place

LOC

LOC(Australia)

Geographic subject of the document. Applies to the Criticism content type.

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(Acta Linguistica Asiatica)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications. Alternatively use the look up facility to select specific titles.

Publication Year

YR

YR(2008)

Use to search documents from a specific year or years. Remember to use an OR operator when searching for more than one year. Alternatively use the Date range under the Search options.

Publisher Abstract

ABS

ABS(courtroom drama)

Publisher Abstracts were made available to users with the April 2008 upload.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

Serials Title

SR

SR(Contemporary North American Poetry Series)

Use to retrieve books from a series.

Applies to the Criticism content type.

SU

SU(ethnic stereotypes)

Controlled vocabulary words, names, or phrases that describe what the document is about. For more targeted subject searching, use subject sub-fields such as MAINSUBJECT or Author as Subject or Work as subject. Applies to the Criticism content type only.

Subject Language

SLN

SLN(French language)

Language the document is about.  Applies to the Criticism content type.

Update

UD

UD(201207)

When the document was added to the database.